In the Trenches

Thoughts and Ideas from a Classroom Teacher

Responding to Non-Fiction

on September 8, 2012

We are starting school-wide flexible guided reading groups on Monday, and I’ve been working today on my plans. I’ve found a text on clouds that addresses our current science objectives and it goes through the comprehension strategies that we’ve been studying in English/Language Arts, too. Woot! I get really excited when that happens. Some of you know exactly how awesome that is.

 

Any ways, one of the tenets of reading non-fiction is have purpose and focus. I love this “Responding to Non-Fiction” graphic organizer that can be used with lots of different texts. I use it frequently, and I really like how it makes the students apply background knowledge, consider questioning as a technique and analyze text features.

 

Check it out!

One response to “Responding to Non-Fiction

  1. Much informative and useful article… I like it personally…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

