In the Trenches

Thoughts and Ideas from a Classroom Teacher

Holiday Card Exchange Project

on November 9, 2012

Are you looking for a great way to celebrate the holidays with your students, while making a variety of curricular and cultural connections? Check out PROJECTS BY JEN. Jen’s projects are always well organized and this one will be no exception. I love how she has included a component of service by having classes send a card to a children’s charity.

Be sure to make this a deep and meaningful project! Here are some other things you can do… 

  • Pin a Google Map with the places that you are sending cards to and where you receive them from
  • Have students research the places their letters are going
  • Students can calculate the distances that the letters are going to travel
  • Make Skype calls with the classes you are coordinating with to share about your schools
  • Make comparisons with the students in different schools
  • Students can generate a digital “ad” for their class to teach more about your area and share that link with your card.
  • Blog about the experience of exchanging cards
  • The possibilities are endless!

Thanks Jen for coordinating this awesome opportunity!

One response to “Holiday Card Exchange Project

  1. Hi Mrs. Hines,

    My name is Claire Langham, and I am a student at the University of South Alabama. For my EDM310 class, I have been assigned to comment on your blog for the next couple of weeks. I will summarize your blog posts and my visits to your blog with a post to my blog on December 2nd. Also, here is a link to my class blog: http://edm310.blogspot.com/

    I really enjoyed reading your post, and I think the holiday card exchange project is such a great idea! I am studying to become a future teacher, so I always enjoy hearing suggestions and recommendations from present teachers. Teaching students the importance of helping and serving others is so vital, and I believe students would not only enjoy this project but learn so much from it as well. I love how you suggested pinning a Google Map so that the students can see where their cards are going. Thanks so much again for your post; it is very inspiring!

    Best wishes,
    Claire Langham

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

