In the Trenches

Thoughts and Ideas from a Classroom Teacher

Back to School – Anchor Charts

on August 4, 2013

Anchor charts, anchor charts, anchor charts! I have a love and hate relationship with anchor charts. They are useful, student centered, and focused on needs. Yay! They take up tons of space and paper. Boo! I can’t stand cluttered walls and feel that they can be overwhelming for many of my students. I need them for my county’s learning requirements, so I have to find a way to make them accessible and meaningful. Tada!

Anchor Charts

Last year, I decided to post some of my more frequently used math Anchor Charts in a web album to link on a webpage. Finally! I could get ride of the clutter. I’m definitely going to do the same thing this year, and I will be able to use some student examples as well. I will set up albums for Science, Social Studies, Math, Reading, and Grammar. They will be embedded on our blog so that as I update the albums, they will also update. Students and parents can access them at home, or at school. I don’t have to worry about keeping up with posters and papers. Yay! Once they are set up and linked with my Picasa account, they should auto sync and make my life easier, too!

One response to “Back to School – Anchor Charts

  1. Geonz says:

    I’m trying to make something like that right now for subtraction, with the three different ways it shows up in problems (take away, missing addend, and comparison).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

