In the Trenches

Thoughts and Ideas from a Classroom Teacher

BC 2.7: The Struggle

on February 16, 2014

Every day is  a struggle… and that isn’t a bad thing. I’ve spent 15 years in the classroom, and I would be a complete liar if I told you that I have everything figured out. Every child over every year over every curriculum mandate is different, and the differences create the struggle.

Right now, I’m teaching a group of 21 students in my math class that require intensive interventions. We work most of our 90 minute period in small groups. I do have the help of a few additional adults during this time, but I struggle with making it meaningful. I have to make 5th grade curriculum accessible and meaningful for students who are working well below grade level. In fluency groups, we are working on addition and subtraction facts. For nightly homework, students have 3 word problems that are completely on grade level (we are currently working on multiplying fractions) and 4 review/fluency problems. Each week, we take a mini assessment on the skills we’ve been working on, as well as some review skills.

I need guidance from those of you who are masters at growing students from where they are and meeting on grade level targets. What tips can you offer?

One response to “BC 2.7: The Struggle

  1. That’s a big challenge, Kelly! Have you thought about individualizing the instruction for each student? Is it possible to create an individualized roadmap for each student by where the work is tailored for each student? Have you thought about flipping the instructions – that is, for homework, having students watch a video on the concept and then having them do the individualized work (i.e., homework) in school? I can share with you what I did (and do). Feel free to contact me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

