In the Trenches

Thoughts and Ideas from a Classroom Teacher

A New Adventure

on January 5, 2012

I’ve been pretty absent from a lot of my online professional networking for the past year. It’s been tough. Between having a baby, trying to keep up with the twins, changing grade levels, and trying to sleep occasionally, there doesn’t seem to be enough time. I’ve neglected my professional blog, twitter stream and the other ways that I have used for the past years to keep up with my own professional learning. I miss it. I miss the encouragement, the mental challenge, the banter and the brainstorming. I have come to understand that I can’t pick up where I left off. In many ways, I’m starting over. I’m just fortunate to have strong relationships with my PLN, most of whom I call friends. I am hoping they will join me on this new adventure.

Tonight, I decided that I am going to have to make a daily appointment with my PLN. It’s going to have to be part of my personal schedule to build in time for my professional networking if I want to continue to grow as a teacher, learner and leader. I am going to start with a daily dose of classroom reality. Each day, I want to record, here on my new blog site, an idea that I implemented or found or conceived for my classroom. It won’t be long or profound on revolutionary, but I pray that it will be useful. This post will probably be the longest one I write, but we’ll see.

I hope my friends, PLN and colleagues will join me on this journey of sharing and growth. I know that I count on them. I just hope that maybe, in these daily musings, someone else may find a little light for their own professional journey.

Photo Credit:  earthkath

Leave a Reply

