In the Trenches

Thoughts and Ideas from a Classroom Teacher

Favorite Read Alouds

on January 12, 2012

I think that every teacher has his or her favorite read aloud books to share with their children and students. I don’ t know of any age group that doesn’t love a read aloud book either, even if they won’t admit it. I polled my friends tonight for some of the books that they love, and I thought I’d share them here. I definitely think I’ve added to my “to read” list. Oooh… If you are looking for a place to keep track of books you read and ones you’d like to check out, try Shelfari.  My bookshelf is HERE.

Check out these awesome read alouds from some of my favorite friends!

Where the Red Fern Grows

What? Cried Granny

The Twits

On My Honor

House on Hackman’s Hill

The Call of the Wild

To Kill a Mockingbird

Sideways Stories from Wayside School (and the rest of the Wayside School series)

Stone Fox

John, Paul, George and Ben

Entombed

Tikki  Tikki Tembo

Prince of the Pond

The BFG

Tiger Rising

Winnie the Pooh

The Secret Garden

Bunnicula (and the rest of its series)

Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes

Shiloh

Zen Shorts

Bear Noel

Ghost Hotel

The Green Book

The Giving Tree

The Witches

The Magic Treehouse series

The Ghost-Eyed Tree

Charlotte’s Web

The Indian in the Cupboard

Because of Winn Dixie

Love You Forever

Bread and Jam for Frances

Where the Sidewalk Ends

Tale of Despereaux

Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life

Mr. Popper’s Penguins

The Very Friendly Snowflake

The Jolly Postman

Where the Wild Things Are

The Butter Battle

Oh the Places You’ll Go

KinderKnuffle Bunny

My Father’s Dragon

Number the Stars

A Wrinkle in Time

Holes

Bridge to Terabithia
Afternoon of the Elvesa

Barn Dance

Skippy Jon Jones

The Lorax

Good Night Moon

I Love You Stinky Face

Flat Stanley (I love that this is my dad’s favorite!)

Sarah’s Story

The Happy Hockey Family

You Are Special

Stand Tall Molly Lou Melon

And for my personal favorites…

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

The Watsons Go to Birmingham – 1963

There’s a Monster at the End of This Book

Leave a Reply

