In the Trenches

Thoughts and Ideas from a Classroom Teacher

Note to Self

on January 17, 2012

Dear self,

I was too tired to do my homework tonight. I realize that it was very important for me to grade that math assignment. I know that I need that information as soon as possible so that I can make sure my students have mastered that part of fractions. I promise I will do it tomorrow. Today I taught all day, managed to have 2 meetings, helped set up science fair tables, helped my twins with their homework, played with my 6 month old, helped cook supper, sat down to eat with the family, did the dishes, finished the twins’ science fair project with them, fed the baby, got everyone to sleep, and even set the coffee pot for in the morning. It’s 8:45 pm and I could push myself to get a few more things finished, but tonight I choose me. I give myself permission to not think about school, to go to bed early, and to get a good night’s sleep. Everyone will be happier tomorrow that I am well rested than that my math papers are graded. Trust me. If you have any questions, feel free get in touch. You know where to find me.

Thanks,
Me

It sure seems silly to write myself an excuse note to go to bed early. Yet, how many times do we deny ourselves our basic needs because of our dedication to our jobs/classes/students? Don’t even get me started on actually eating lunch at school. I mean, who has time for that?! If there is any thing that I try to impress on new teachers, it is that taking care of yourself and family is a number one priority. If only I always took my own advice,.. Good night friends. Give yourself permission to be human, too.

Leave a Reply

