In the Trenches

Thoughts and Ideas from a Classroom Teacher

Screen Free Time

on May 29, 2012

My students are always amazed at what a mean mother I am. I tell them horror stories of how David and Tyler have to finish their homework right after school and before they can go outside. I terrify them with the idea that the twins have chores to do… every day! They are amazed that my nine year olds do not have cell phones and their tv and video game time is limited. So, imagine their horror when I described how the boys have “unplugged time” every day all summer. The television goes off. The video games get put away, and they have to go outside or read or play board games or create something. Today, I ran across this great site of ideas for kids and parents to have “screen free” time and some activities to try during these times. I will definitely have to check them out with the twins!

 

Leave a Reply

