In the Trenches

Thoughts and Ideas from a Classroom Teacher

First Days of School – TShirt Time

on August 7, 2012

One of the things on my supply list for the beginning on the year is a plain white tshirt. In the first week of school, I use old rubber bands and have my student prep their shirts to be tie-dyed. They put in the rubber bands however they would like, but first I make sure they put their initials on the tag. We vote on a color to use and then I pick it up at the store on the way home. The only thing that causes me not to have the kids vote is if my whole grade level wants to participate (which is AWESOME) and we each decide on a class color. The brightest colors, like red, purple, or green work best. The next day we soak the shirts in the dye mix and hot water for most of the day in our recess bucket. After lunch, we will wring them out and hang them over the fence to dry. The kids love it. I let them dry in the room overnight and the next day we use fabric pens to write the kids’ first names on their shirts where a name tag would go. I keep the shirts in the room throughout the year, and we put them on for field days, class trips, assemblies, etc. We look awesome and are totally easy to spot in a crowd. I don’t have to mess with name tags on trips either! We always have people compliment us on how cool we look. On the last day of the year, the kids all sign each others’ shirts and then take them home. It’s always a good idea to make sure the kids bring in a shirt that is at least one size too big and to do a few extras for kids who transfer in later in the year or grow too much. I will definitely post my pics of this year’s shirts in a few weeks when we start school!

Leave a Reply

