In the Trenches

Thoughts and Ideas from a Classroom Teacher

Starting Your Own Blog

on December 30, 2013

I am certainly no expert at blogging. I go in spurts. I don’t write my own coding. I use the fonts, styles, and themes from the platforms that I use. I don’t even have my own domain. But, I will shout from the rooftops the benefits of writing, sharing, collaborating, and reflecting in a public space. When I first started blogging, I felt like I had to contribute to conversations about broad educational topics. I set goals for myself that weren’t fitting of my skills or desires. It wasn’t until I realized that my gift, my niche, was in simply sharing what I do, that I found a rhythm. Don’t let anyone else define for you what your blog should look like. Find your own way. You’ll thank yourself. In case you still aren’t convinced, Edudemic put out this great list of 3 reasons why you, as an educator, should be blogging.

Here is a quick tutorial on how to set up a Blogger account. Blogger is a free, easy to use service based on your Google account. I’ve found it to be the most user friendly!

Leave a Reply

